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Federal law requires certain 
Hawaii recreational fishermen 

to sign up with the National 
Saltwater Angler Registry.

Who Needs to Register?
Hawaii recreational fishermen (including 

spear fishermen) who don’t meet any of the exemptions 
listed below.

Who Is Exempt?
You do NOT need to register if you:
•	 fish only in freshwater;
•	 are under 16 years old;
•	 fish only on licensed charter boats;
•	 fish only within 3 miles from shore;
•	 are fishing under a valid commercial marine 

license; or
•	 hold a Federal Main Hawaiian Islands 

Non-commercial Bottomfish permit.

Out-of-state fishermen who are already registered with 
NOAA do not need to re-register to fish in Hawaii.

Is There a Fee to Register?
There is an annual $25 fee to register. Indigenous 
fishermen must register, but are not required to 
pay a fee.

Why Register?
The registry is the law, and it helps NOAA Fisheries and 
fishermen work together to collect better catch data 
to ensure the future of marine recreational fishing in 
Hawaii.

To register or learn more, go to: 
www.CountMyFish.noaa.gov or call 
1-888-674-7411.

National Saltwater 
Angler Registry



What is the purpose of the registry?
The registry serves as a national directory of recreational 
fishermen. It allows NOAA Fisheries to more efficiently 
contact fishermen to ask questions about recent fishing 
activity. This information, when combined with numerous 
other data sources, helps NOAA Fisheries to evaluate the 
health of fish populations and to check that protections 
put in place to conserve fisheries will be fair, effective, and 
based on sound science.

Should I just get myself a commercial marine 
license and save myself the trouble?
You should get the license that best meets your fishing 
needs. Commercial fishing licenses enable fishermen to 
sell their catch in Hawaii. The registry is for fishermen 
who don’t make their primary living from fishing, even if 
they mostly fish for food for themselves, their families, and 
their neighbors. Anyone considering a commercial license 
should also be aware of the reporting requirements of the 
commercial fishery.

Do recreational fishermen really have that 
great of an impact on the resource?
Many people assume the number of fish caught by 
recreational fishermen must be minimal in comparison 
to the commercial harvest. The truth is that more than 
150,000 boat-based recreational fishermen in Hawaii 
typically land between 10 and 15 million pounds of fish 
each year.

Can I register and fish the same day?
Yes. You can register online or by phone and fish the same 
day. Simply write down the registration number to present 
to law enforcement officials, if requested. A registration 
card will follow in the mail.

Frequently Asked Questions


